Weather-based insurance scheme to cover 15 districts in State

The State government has notified nine crops sown in the Rabi season in 15 districts in 2012-13 under the weather-based crop insurance scheme. It is aimed at providing insurance to farmers against adverse weather conditions, such as deficient and excessive rainfall, frost, drought and relative humidity

The scheme will cover jowar, ragi, Bengal gram (both rainfed and irrigated), potato (irrigated), grapes and mango and the districts to be covered are Bangalore Rural, Bagalkot, Belgaum, Bellary, Bidar, Bijapur, Chitradurga, Chickballapur, Davangere, Dharwad, Haveri, Kolar, Koppal, Raichur and Yadgir. It will be implemented in 202 selected blocks, officials in the Agriculture Department said.

Agricultural Insurance Company of India Ltd. (AIC), ICICI Lombard General Insurance Company, HDFC Ergo General Insurance Company, Cholamandalam MS General Insurance Company and Iffco Tokio General Insurance Company Ltd. will implement the scheme.


The last date for submission of applications is December 31.

Farmers who have availed themselves of crop loans must compulsorily apply for the scheme and will have to pay the premium at the nearest bank.

The premium ranges from 2.5 per cent to 3.5 per cent of the sum insured for crops. Farmers can get details of the scheme from a network of 745 Raitha Samparka Kendras.


Meanwhile, the Centre has revised the National Agricultural Insurance Scheme (NAIS) to cover eight rabi crops in four districts.

It will be implemented on a pilot basis in Gulbarga, Shimoga, Tumkur and Uttara Kannada districts and will cover jowar, wheat, Bengal gram, sunflower (both irrigated and rainfed) and summer crops of paddy and groundnut at the panchayat level.

At the hobli level, it will cover rabi crops of paddy, maize, sunflower (both irrigated), horsegram, greengram, safflower, groundnut (all rainfed).

The last date for submission of application for the scheme is December 31. Agricultural Insurance Company of India (AICI) Ltd. will implement the scheme.

In the event of crop loss due to natural calamities, farmers will have to give details within 48 hours to the nearest bank or the office of the AICI, Bangalore.


The original NAIS will cover rabi crops such as paddy (irrigated), maize (irrigated, rainfed), jowar (rainfed), ragi and wheat, Bengal gram (irrigated, rainfed), blackgram, horsegram, greengram, linseed (all rainfed), sunflower (irrigated and rainfed), groundnut (rainfed) and safflower (rainfed).

It will cover four summer crops paddy, ragi, sunflower and groundnut (all irrigated), officials said.

The scheme is mandatory for farmers, who have availed themselves of crop loans and is optional for others.

Farmers, who have not taken crop loans, will have to pay premium with all documents related on area of cultivation and type of crop to the bank. AICI is implementing the scheme.

The last day for submitting application is December 31. Farmers who have taken up summer crops, the last date for submitting applications is February 28, 2013.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.